

# General Meeting Minutes

Approval: Pending

DATE: Feb. 20<sup>th</sup>, 2016 TIME: 10:00 a.m.

LOCATION: The DESC, 341 Shuswap Street S.W., Salmon Arm, BC

Call to Order: 10:03 a.m.

#### **Roll Call of Officers:**

President Sylvia Lindgren 1<sup>st</sup> Vice Sean Harris

Secretary Treasurer José van Berkel (excused)

Recording Secretary

2<sup>nd</sup> Vice

3<sup>rd</sup> Vice

Erica McDowell
Debbie Johnson
Karsten Bellows

# **Unit Chairs:**

SD 83, North Okanagan Shuswap Cory Thomas

SD 67, Okanagan Skaha Dean Brotto (excused)
SD 53, Okanagan Similkameen Ray Haddow (excused)

NOYFSS Craeg Pohorelic

John Howard Society Vacant

#### **Trustees:**

Nancy Boisvenue Bonnie Keir (absent)

Sandi Ward (appointed) (absent)

National Rep: Rob Hewitt

# **Reading of Equality Statement**

We would like to recognize that we are meeting on the Traditional Territory of the Shuswap Nations.

Minute of Silence: Paul Charliewood from SD67

Swearing in of New Members: Megan Magel, Alisa Cook

Adoption of Agenda (Pg. 1-2) Motion: To accept the agenda as presented. m/s/c

Minutes of: January 16<sup>th</sup>, 2016 (Pg. 3-5) Motion: To accept the Minutes of January 16<sup>th</sup>, 2016 as

presented. m/s/c

Correspondence (Pg. 6) Recording Secretary

# **Treasurer's Report:**

Balance Sheet (Pg. 7)

Income Statement (Pg. 8-9)

Motion: To accept the Treasurer's Report as presented. m/s/c

# **General Meeting - Agenda, continued...**

Notice of Motion: That \$1800 is transferred from Local 523 to Unit 53 due to an administrative error.

**President's Report** 

1<sup>st</sup> Vice President Report (including Grievance/Shop Steward issues)

National Rep's Report: Rob Hewitt

# **Unit Reports:**

- North Okanagan Shuswap
- Okanagan Skaha
- Okanagan Similkameen
- NOYFSS
- JHS

# **Committee Reports:**

- Communication
- Education
- Entertainment
- Good & Welfare
- Health & Safety

# **Unfinished Business:**

K-12 Standard Benefits Plan

#### **New Business:**

• Unit Elections SD83

# **Unit Chair Election's (2yr)**

Cory Thomas - Accepted and Acclaimed

# Shop Stewards (2yr)

Tammie Koroluk -Accepted and Acclaimed Megan Magel -Accepted and Acclaimed Kyle Clark -Accepted and Acclaimed Kim Bojey -Accepted and Acclaimed Lynn Bischke -Accepted and Acclaimed Val Pearson -Accepted and Acclaimed

# Committee Reps (2yr)

# **Occupational Health & Safety**

Cory Thomas - Accepted and Acclaimed Karsten Bellows - Accepted and Acclaimed

#### **Education**

# General Meeting - Agenda, continued...

Nancy Boisvenue - Accepted and Acclaimed

# Communication

Tammie Koroluk -Accepted and Acclaimed

# **Good & Welfare**

Amy Sampson - Accepted and Acclaimed

# Oath of Office

Good and Welfare: (6 @ \$25.00 each) Nancy Boisvenue, Quinton Lindgren, Aaron Schielke, Sheila Malashewsky, Robbie Williams, Karen Beggs (Swag) Juliet Pohorelic, Kyle Clark, Janice Ritter

Adjournment: 11:50 a.m.