

General Meeting Minutes

Approval: Pending

DATE: Jan. 16th, 2016 **TIME:** 10:00 a.m.

LOCATION: Village Green Hotel, 4801 27th Street, Vernon, BC

Call to Order:

Roll Call of Officers:

President

1st Vice

Sean Harris

Secretary Treasurer

Recording Secretary

2nd Vice

Sylvia Lindgren

Sean Harris

José van Berkel

Erica McDowell

Debbie Johnson

3rd Vice Karsten Bellows *(excused)*

Unit Chairs:

SD 83, North Okanagan Shuswap Cory Thomas (excused)

SD 67, Okanagan Skaha Dean Brotto SD 53, Okanagan Similkameen Ray Haddow

NOYFSS Craeg Pohorelic (excused)

John Howard Society Eric Denison

Trustees:

Nancy Boisvenue (absent)

Bonnie Keir (absent)

Sandi Ward (appointed) (absent)

National Rep: Rob Hewitt

Reading of Equality Statement

We would like to recognize that we are meeting on the Traditional Territory of the Okanagan Nations.

Minute of Silence

Swearing in of New Members: Alexandra Dyke

Adoption of Agenda (Pg. 1-2)

Motion: To accept the agenda as presented with the following additions; . m/s/c

Minutes of: November 28th, 2015 (Pg. 3-5)

Motion: That the minutes of November 28th, 2015 be accepted as presented. (Pg.5-9) m/s/c

Correspondence (Pg. 7) Recording Secretary

Treasurer's Report:

Balance Sheet (Pg. 8)

Income Statement (Pg. 9-11)

Comparative Statement (Pg. 13-15)

Motion: That we accepted the Treasurer's Report as presented. (Pg.5-9) m/s/c

General Meeting - Minutes, continued...

President's Report

1st Vice President Report (including Grievance/Shop Steward issues)

National Rep's Report: Rob Hewitt

Unit Reports:

- NOYFSS
- JHS
- North Okanagan Shuswap
- Okanagan Skaha
- Okanagan Similkameen

Committee Reports:

- Health & Safety
- Communication
- Education
- Entertainment
- Good & Welfare

Unfinished Business:

New Business:

- K-12 Standard Benefits Plan
- Violence in the Workplace
- Unit Elections, NOYFSS & JHS

John Howard Society

Unit Chair Election's (2yr.)

Vacant

Shop Stewards – 4 Positions (2yr)

Eric Denison - Accepted and Acclaimed

Committee Reps (2yr)

Occupational Health & Safety: Vacant

Education: Vacant Communication: Vacant Good & Welfare: Vacant

NOYFSS

Unit Chair Elections (2yr.)

Craeg Pohorelic - Accepted and Acclaimed

General Meeting - Minutes, continued...

Shop Stewards – 4 Positions (2yr)

Dan Miller - Accepted and Acclaimed Shelly Chvala - Accepted and Acclaimed 2 - Vacancies

Committee Reps (2yr)

Education: Vacant

Communication: Vacant

Occupational Health & Safety:

Samantha Symons

Dan Miller

Good & Welfare: Samantha Symons

Good and Welfare: (6 @ \$25.00 each) Theresa MacDonald, Alvina Gooch, Alexandra Dyke, Janice Perkach, Emily Broughton, Megan McDonnell (Swag) Samantha Symons, Anne Case, Nikki Casmeir, Karen Cleland

Adjournment: 11:37 pm