

# General Meeting Minutes

Approval: Pending

DATE: May 9<sup>th</sup>, 2015

**TIME:** 1:30 pm

LOCATION: IMC Building, 425 Jermyn Avenue, Penticton, BC

Call to Order: 1:30 pm No Quorum, Information Only

**Roll Call of Officers:** 

President Sylvia Lindgren

1<sup>st</sup> Vice Sean Harris (acting president)

Secretary Treasurer José van Berkel

Recording Secretary Erica McDowell (excused)

2<sup>nd</sup> Vice Debbie Johnson 3<sup>rd</sup> Vice Bonnie Keir

**Unit Chairs:** 

SD 83, North Okanagan Shuswap Jean Frolek

SD 67, Okanagan Skaha Alison Reigh (excused)
SD 53, Okanagan Similkameen Ray Haddow (excused)

NOYFSS Craeg Pohorelic

John Howard Society Eric Denison (excused)

John Piers

**Trustees:** 

Roberta Hormes
Nancy Boisvenue

Karsten Bellows (excused)

National Rep: Rob Hewitt (excused)

# **Reading of Equality Statement**

We would like to recognize that we are meeting on the Traditional Territory of the Okanagan Nations.

Minute of Silence

Swearing in of New Members: Fiona Nicholson, Tanya Bitzer, Paul Demunnick

Adoption of Agenda (Pg. 1-2)

Minutes of: April 11<sup>th</sup>, 2015 (Pg. 3-7)

Motion: To accept the agenda as presented with the following additions; National Convention, Unit67

Loco Landing. m/s/c

Correspondence (Pg. 8)

Motion: To accept the correspondence as presented. m/s/c

Treasurer's Report (Pg. 9-14)

Motion: To accept the Treasurer's Report as presented. m/s/c

**President's Report** 

1<sup>st</sup> Vice President Report (including Grievance/Shop Steward issues):

# General Meeting - Agenda, continued...

National Rep's Report: Rob Hewitt

#### **Unit Reports:**

- Okanagan Skaha
- NOYFSS
- JHS
- North Okanagan Shuswap
- Okanagan Similkameen

# **Committee Reports:**

- Communication
- Education
- Entertainment
- Good & Welfare
- Health & Safety

### **Unfinished Business:**

• CUPE 523 Sandwich Boards - Erica

Notice of Motion: To spend up to \$250 to purchase another CUPE 523 Sandwich board. Removed

## **New Business:**

- CUPE BC Convention Report's
- Harrison Report Bonnie
- Young Workers Conference José

Good and Welfare: (6 @ \$25.00 each) Tanya Bitzer, Aaron Schielke, Sandra Walker, Lori Smith, Kim Crickett-Pym, Juliette Pahorelic (Swag) Raberta Hormes, Dean Brotto, Fiona Nicholson, Paul Demunnick.

Adjournment: 3:10 pm