

General Meeting Minutes

Approval: Pending

DATE:September 19th, 2015TIME:1:30 p.m.LOCATION:Oliver Community Centre, Oliver, BC

Call to Order: 1:43 pm ** No Quorum, Information Only

Roll Call of Officers:

PresidentSylvia Lindgren1st ViceSean HarrisSecretary TreasurerJosé van BerkelRecording SecretaryErica McDowell2nd ViceDebbie Johnson3rd ViceBonnie Keir

Unit Chairs:

SD 83, North Okanagan Shuswap SD 67, Okanagan Skaha SD 53, Okanagan Similkameen

NOYFSS John Howard Society Cory Thomas Alison Reigh Ray Haddow *(excused)* Jane Slater Craeg Pohorelic Eric Denison *(excused)*

Trustees:

Roberta Hormes *(absent)* Nancy Boisvenue *(absent)* Karsten Bellows *(absent)*

National Rep:

Rob Hewitt

Reading of Equality Statement

We would like to recognize that we are meeting on the Traditional Territory of the Okanagan First Nations.

Minute of Silence Swearing in of New Members: Rod Rehbein, Heather Vallee

Adoption of Agenda (Pg. 1-2)

* Note the following amendments; Date & Unit SD83 chair, addition of the omission of the Notice of Motion under new business/bursary: **Notice of Motion:** That CUPE Local 523 pay out the remaining 2015 Bursary applications.

Minutes of: June 13th, 2015 (Pg. 3-4)

Correspondence (Pg. 5)

Treasurer's Report (Pg. 6-11)

President's Report

1st Vice President Report (including Grievance/Shop Steward issues)

General Meeting - Agenda, continued...

National Rep's Report: Rob Hewitt

Unit Reports:

- Okanagan Similkameen
- NOYFSS
- JHS
- North Okanagan Shuswap
- Okanagan Skaha

Committee Reports:

- Education
- Entertainment
- Good & Welfare
- Health & Safety
- Communication

Unfinished Business:

• Electronic Voting Test – José

New Business:

- Bursary Awards Update José
- CUPE National Convention José

Good and Welfare: (6 @ **\$25.00 each)** Rod Rehbein, Heather Vallee, Sandra Walker, Dean Brotto, Joan Avila, Juliette Pohorelic **(Swag)** Jane Slater, Diane Desbrisay

Adjournment: 2:33 pm