

General Meeting MINUTES

Approval: Pending

DATE: February 22, 2025 TIME: 9 am LOCATION: TEAMS

Call to Order: 9:02 am

ROLL CALL:

President	Tammy Carter
Secretary-Treasurer	Kyle Clark
Recording Secretary	Vacant
1 st Vice President	Shawn Melnyk
2 nd Vice President	Morgan Turland
3 rd Vice President	Devon Brindley
Indigenous Workers' Representative	Vacant

Unit Chairs:

	D53, Okanagan Similkameen D67, Okanagan Skaha	Charlene Turnbull Terry Phillips
	D83, North Okanagan Shuswap	Sylvia Lindgren
NC	OYFSS, North Okanagan Youth and	Vacant (Olivia Mcirony, shop steward)
Fa	amily Services Society	
TF	PCS, Turning Point Collaborative Society	Zoey Froemgen
SC	CS, Summerland Community Support	Vacant
Cl	UPE National Representative:	Rachel Champagne
Trustees:		

Nancy Boisvenue Jennifer Harper (absent)

Reading of the Equality Statement

A reminder that any abusive language or threatening behavior will not be tolerated, as per our equality statement. This applies before, during, and after all our meetings.

Minute of Silence: Carter Lawrence, Carter Kosick, Olly Willmot, Family member of SD67 Member

Swearing in new members:

Membership Oath: I promise to support and comply with the Constitution of this Union, to work to improve the economic and social conditions of other members and other workers, to defend and work to improve the democratic rights and liberties of workers and that I will not purposely or knowingly harm or assist in harming another member of the Union.

Adoption of the Agenda - m/c/s

Adoption of the November 2024 General Meeting Minutes – m/c/s

Correspondence:

Local 523 www.523.cupe.ca CUPE BC updates: www.cupe.bc.ca CUPE National updates: <u>www.cupe.ca</u>

Motion: To move unit and committee reports to after new business. m/s/c

REPORTS:

Treasurer's Report **Motion:** To accept the Secretary Treasurer Report as presented. *m/s/c*

President's Report Tammy gave her report. Some units are without a unit chair and Tammy is supporting those units.

1st Vice President's Report

Shawn gave his report. Included in the agenda package. Terri and Sylvia spoke about the importance of grieving breaches of the collective agreement so that we don't weaken it by allowing the employer to set a precedent.

National Rep Report – no report Indigenous Worker's Report - vacant position – no report General Meeting – Agenda continued...

UNFINISHED BUSINESS

CSS/K-12/IFT Bargaining update

CSS: Finished negotiations at the local table, but bargaining is still happening at the provincial level. K-12's: The provincial table has been formed, meetings have begun, surveys have been sent out. Expect that local bargaining will begin in the spring.

IFT: Bargaining has begun with Tammy, Kyle, and 2 IFT members on the bargaining committee. Please complete any surveys going out so they know what your priorities. School district surveys closed in December 2024.

NEW BUSINESS

Nominations for Returning Officers Elections Committee:

Nominated: Kade MacQuarrie (appointed returning officer), Roberta Hormes , Olivia McInroy , Vanessa LeDuc – **m/s/c**

Tammy gave an overview of the roles and responsibilities for each executive position.

Nominations for Executive Positions

President (2 yrs) Nominated: Tammy Carter Accepted/Acclaimed: Yes *Tammy Carter is elected President by acclamation.*

Recording Secretary (2yrs)Nominated:Melanie HarrimanNominated:Jennifer HarperAccepted:Yes

2nd Vice President (2yrs)Nominated:Devon BrindleyNominated:Morgan TurlandAccepted:Yes

Trustee (3yrs) Nominated: Bonnie Hartskamp Accepted: No Nominated: Leanne Boothman Accepted/Acclaimed: Yes *Leanne Boothman is elected Trustee by acclamation.*

Indigenous Representative (2yrs)				
Nominated:	Christen Thompson	Accepted: Yes		
Nominated:	Cheri Calvert	Accepted: Yes		
Nominated:	Lisa Bennett	Accepted: Yes		

General Meeting – Agenda continued...

Nominated: Cheri Calvert (SD83), Shawn Melynk (SD67), Melanie Harriman (SD67), Naomi Etty, Lisa Bennett (SD67), Morgan Turland (SD83), Val Dean (SD83), Jillian Johnston *Election will occur at the March 8th election meeting. We have 8 seats total and four are occupied by executive members. These 8 people are vying for the four remaining seats.*

Motion: To send out the unit and committee reports (redacted) by email. m/s/c

Good & Welfare (6x \$25)

Naomi Etty, Kade MacQuarrie, Kristopher Lee, Lisa Bennett, Janice Ritter, Vanessa Leduc

Adjournment: 11:00

Next General Meeting – May 10th

Action: Send out unit/committee reports

Unit Reports:

SD53 – Okanagan Similkameen SD67 – Okanagan Skaha SD83 – North Okanagan Shuswap Turning Points NOYFSS SCS

COMMITTEE REPORTS:

Health & Safety – President Education – 3rd Vice President Good & Welfare – 3rd Vice President Communication – 2nd Vice President SIDC – Southern Interior District Council – 2nd Vice President North and South Labour Council – President General Meeting – Agenda continued...